Week 5

SUNDAY – DAY 29 – Quite the busy day, between my brother, my dad and I, we managed to remove the grout that was leftover after the ceramic tiles removal in the bathroom and remove the vinyl tiles in the master bedroom. We all 3 worked on this but one after the other without crossing each other’s path which was quite funny.

MONDAY – DAY 30 – What a surprise today! My dad messaged me this morning wondering what were the next steps for the house and together we came up with an action plan of what we would do next so that things flowed properly, we agreed to meet at the house during the evening and get started… But when I showed up at the house I found out my dad actually had the afternoon off and with the help of his buddy, he managed to get everything done! I hadn’t seen it coming at all!

  • Bottom kitchen cabinets – gone!
  • Kitchen drywall – removed!

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 5 - Day 30.1 - Original

  • Railing – gone!

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 5 - Day 30.2 - Original

  • Paneling on one wall going down the stairs – gone!

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 5 - Day 30.3 - Original

  • Uneven drywall on the other wall going down the stairs – bye-bye!

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 5 - Day 30.4 - Original

It was such an awesome surprise!

Doing that though he discovered that the plywood we had tried to save in the kitchen had been placed on top of two layers of vinyl flooring which means it also needs to be removed… that’ll be quite the task but we believe in doing it right so that means taking this house back down to the bones.

Lee is off tomorrow and the way things are looking right now, both my dad and my brother will be available to go help her work on the house tomorrow afternoon. I was asked not to work on the house but rather to write down a detailed list of what needs to be done next to which I happily and quickly agreed to!

TUESDAY – DAY 31 – Lee was off today so she got to make progress on a bunch of little things around the house such as removing the forgotten pieces of vinyl flooring tiles in the pantry, cutting the pieces of parquet stuck under the wall in the hallway and removing the sub-floor pieces leftover in the master bedroom walk-in closet.

This evening my dad and brother came by to build the half-wall along the stairs in replacement of the previous railing.

WEDNESDAY – DAY 32 – Lee spent most of the afternoon and evening sanding the ceilings of the living room and both bedrooms. We are now ready for the final ceiling spot check in those three rooms after which another light sanding will be needed and we’ll be ready for primer!

We also met with our plumber, showed him the work that needs to be done and got our quote. Now we just need to call him once we have bought the new tub faucet as he needs that to proceed.

While Lee was sanding I took a crow bar to the kitchen plywood… Wow that thing is screwed down every 3 inches and it is quite a pain to remove. I managed to get only a 4′ x 8′ section off while Lee sanded the entire master bedroom.

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 5 - Day 32

THURSDAY – DAY 33 – No progress at the house per say today but Lee made a stop at Lowe’s to get the bathtub faucet/shower head so that the plumber can start, another box of drywall compound as we’ll have more drywall to install and our back splash tiles as well since they were on sale.

FRIDAY – DAY 34 – This morning we woke up earlier than usual to made a quick stop at a flooring store before I had to get to work. We are debating between laminate flooring and hardwood. Laminate would be much cheaper initially but hardwood is much nicer and also brings more value to the house. We haven’t yet made a choice, we are hoping to be able to find something that will fit both the look with want and the budget we have.

This evening, I set out to remove the reminder of the plywood in the kitchen while Lee was at work. It was quite the task as it was screwed in every 3″, it turned out to be quicker to remove the screws rather than chipping at it with the hammer and crow bar. I ended up cutting lines with the saw every 2′ to create squares which would be easier to remove and more motivating too. But that was still a long process it took a good 4.5 hours but I am so glad it is done now!

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 5 - Day 34

SATURDAY – DAY 35 – Keeping up with yesterday’s flooring shopping, my dad talked to me about this hardwood manufacture in Renfrew which is about 2 hours away from here. I gave them a call yesterday to see if they had any grey-ish floor, check the prices and find out if they had quantities in stock, everything seemed very promising so my dad and I drove down this morning hoping to find the perfect hardwood and buy it right away. Unfortunately though it seems like the color grey has many definitions. None of the samples they had were even remotely close to a grey.  The prices were higher than what I was told (over the phone they gave me the price for the engineered laminated hardwood which was much cheaper and not at all what we were looking for). Then of course, the one sample I liked more than the others wasn’t in stock, it would have to be delivered from Toronto. Feeling annoyed by the waste of time and gas we made our way back home and decided to stop at Home Depot and check up their selection. We bought a few samples but the prices were definitely higher than what our budget could allow.

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 4 - Day 28.2

My dad dropped me off at home and I ended up taking my mom along for a visit to another flooring place as well as Rona and Reno-Depot. We got samples of everything that was close to the look we were after and did manage to find a few options that were close to our price range. This is probably one of the hardest decision we’ve had to make so far.

Leave a Reply

