Week 11

SUNDAY – DAY 71 – This morning I got to the house early on my own and got a head start on installing the next few rows of tiles for which we had already planned and pre-cut any tiles that needed cutting. The first row went in without a glitch but when I was starting the second row, I realized the one tile my brother installed yesterday was backwards.. The cut edge was towards the middle of the room and the nice finished edge against the wall. Arg!

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 11 - Day 71.1

I gently propped the tile up with a crow bar and hammer hoping for the best and luckily for me, the tile came off with all the mortar underneath as it wasn’t fully cured yet. Now though I was missing my starting tile for that row and my dad was still not there… I decided to try cutting the tile with the cutter on my own, now really sure of how to but having a pretty good idea since I saw my dad do it multiple times yesterday, and it went perfectly, not a single chip. I proceeded to finishing the entire row before my dad finally arrived.

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 11 - Day 71.2AudreeLeeBLog - Week 11 - Day 71.3

I showed him on a little piece of wasted tile how I cut my piece making sure I did it right fully expecting the tile to break in pieces like they were doing yesterday but instead I got a perfect cut tiny piece of tile with no chips… And that’s how we realized you don’t need to apply pressure at all when scoring the tile with the tile cutter. Yesterday, the tiles kept breaking because we were putting way too much pressure!

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 11 - Day 71.4

We spent the rest of the day finishing up as much of the kitchen as possible leaving 3 tiles left for tomorrow as we couldn’t access them properly without stepping on the newly installed ones. You can see in the above bottom left picture the full tile that wasn’t installed, the two skinny ones right in front of the door were simply laid in place to verify the cut and not yet installed.

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 11 - Day 71.5

While we were working on that, my mom came over with lunch and then got started on assembling a few of the kitchen cabinet frames. It is so exciting to see all of this coming together. We cannot wait to see the end result.

MONDAY – DAY 72 – After installing the remaining 3 tiles in the kitchen, I got started on grouting everywhere except those 3 freshly installed tiles.

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 11 - Day 72.1

My mom followed after me cleaning as we went. It took longer than I expected but the result is amazing, we thought it looked good with just the tiles installed, it looks much better with the grout in as well.

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 11 - Day 72.2

My dad, his girlfriend and her kids stopped by to check out our progress and bring us each a Dairy Queen Blizzard, an unexpected but very welcomed treat.

TUESDAY – DAY 73- Not much progress at the house today as we are preparing our imminent departure towards the sun, but, we did make sure to stop by so Lee could see the kitchen tiles all grouted and do a little bit of cleaning too.

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 11 - Day 73.1

We are in love with our tile selection and with the pattern we decided upon. It is so nice to see finishing touches being installed, we can finally start seeing the results of all our hard work.

We did take the time to order our hardwood today, the estimated pick up date is May 3rd, we should be ready to install it by then.

AudreeLeeBLog - Week 11 - Day 73.2

Won’t it look amazing beside out kitchen tiles?

WEDNESDAY TO SATURDAY – DAY 74 to 77 – There will be no progress for the next week as we are leaving this afternoon for Cayo Santa Maria, Cuba. A much needed one-week vacation to relax and celebrate Lee’s birthday in style. Beach, sunshine, ocean, drinks, here we come!

Leave a Reply

