Crochet Minion Blanket | Sneak Peek

So yes, as the title suggests, I crochet… And no, I’m not 90 years old (like Lee often tells me to tease me). I always had a lot of interest in all the possible different kind of crafts. I’m always willing to try new ones, some I enjoy more than others and will stick with, others I just pull out once in a while when the mood strikes.

AudreeLeeBlog - Minion Blanket- Sneak Peak 01

About two years ago I started seeing crocheted items on Pinterest and I thought to myself “it can’t be that hard to do can it?”. I enrolled in a quick one-hour class at my local Micheal’s craft store and learned the basics. I’ve since found tutorials and ideas online to help me widen my knowledge and tried many different patterns along the way.

I enjoy crocheting as it relaxes me and helps relieve stress. It is also great to do while watching TV for those times where I wanna feel productive but also don’t quite wanna do anything.

Every time we have a long car ride ahead of us, I pack up a project to work on to help pass time. It just so happens that in two weeks we are heading to Toronto and then to Sandbanks which means over 12 hours in the car a.k.a. lots of progress on a crochet project. Problem is, I don’t currently have a project on my hook…

Lee has been very supportive of my hobby, she even started a private Pinterest board for us where she pins items she sees and would like me to make for her/us. Enter: the Minion blanket (this is the link for the blanket Lee originally saw, but it seems to be inspired from this pearler beader pattern).

Doesn’t Stuart look so adorable? I immediately agreed. I sketched out a graph based on the image she pinned but adding an extra white row along the top and bottom so that his head and feet didn’t touch the edges and also one on the sides to preserve the proportions of the blanket.

AudreeLeeBlog - Minion Blanket- Sneak Peak 02

This sketch will be useful for me to mark exactly which squares are done and which are left to do as I plan on working this blanket row by row rather than color by color.

To complete the blanket as sketched, with 16 squares wide and 21 squares high, I will need:

  • 12 Grey squares;
  • 34 Black squares;
  • 46 Blue squares;
  • 76 Yellow squares;
  • 168 White squares.

That’s a total of 336 squares!

I decided to use the solid granny square pattern from Lucy at Attic 24 instead of standard granny squares. This should make the blanket a little bit less hole-y and allow me to try a new pattern I haven’t had the chance to work with.

I’m also planning on adding a border to finish the edges off but I haven’t yet worked out the details of it in my mind.

AudreeLeeBlog - Minion Blanket- Sneak Peak 03

We selected to use Loops and Thread – Impeccable yarn in True Grey, Black, Royal, Gold and White to make our little Minion.

I can’t wait to see the end result!

UPDATE: See the Work In Progress to view the over half completed project.

3 thoughts on “Crochet Minion Blanket | Sneak Peek

Leave a Reply

