Crochet Minion Blanket | Work In Progress

Just under two months ago, before we left on vacation to Toronto and Sandbanks (see those posts here and here), I posted about my plan to use my time during the car rides there and back to make a crochet Minion Blanket (see this post).

AudreeLeeBlog - Minion Blanket-Work In Progress 01

Obviously  I didn’t get to complete the blanket during the trip as blankets take lots of time to make. I did however make great progress and I have been working on it a little bit every day since. I try to make at least one square a day since we got back and as a result, it is just over half done!

AudreeLeeBlog - Minion Blanket-Work In Progress 02

My technique is to make all the squares for one row (16) then tuck all the center ends in and attach them all using the invisible joining method described by Lucy from Attic 24 in the solid granny square pattern.

I attached the first two and a half rows this way before I realized this may not be the best thing to do in the car as I had to continuously look down which was starting to make me feel car sick (unlike when make the squares during which I can look up quite often); so i just kept making squares.

AudreeLeeBlog - Minion Blanket-Work In Progress 03

Kenzie already loves to snuggle with the half-complete blanket.

Lee has been such a great help with this blanket as she took over tucking in the ends and joining the squares for me, the amount of time this saves me is insane, I’m so happy she offered to do that part!

AudreeLeeBlog - Minion Blanket-Work In Progress 04

It was a very exciting moment to see the first few blue squares sewn in, as we are now over half-way done with this project!

AudreeLeeBlog - Minion Blanket-Work In Progress 05

The squares aren’t all perfectly straight as the blanket hasn’t yet been blocked, but I love how he’s shaping up. He makes us smile every time we walk past it.

AudreeLeeBlog - Minion Blanket-Work In Progress 06

I’m a few rows ahead of Lee as you can see on the graph below.

AudreeLeeBlog - Minion Blanket-Work In Progress 07

We will be back to show you the final product as soon as it is completed!

3 thoughts on “Crochet Minion Blanket | Work In Progress

Leave a Reply

