Neat Ripple Crochet Blanket for Angelina

About two years ago, I made my first blanket. Immediately after seeing it, Angelina asked me to make her, her very own blanket. I happily agreed. It is so much fun to work on a project for someone special. She was 11 years old then… she turned 13 last week and I was finally able to give it to her!

AudreeLeeBlog - Neat Ripple Crochet Blanket for Angelina 01

I decided to let her pick the colors without any input for me. We went to Micheal’s worsted weight yarn aisle and she selected 5 different colors:

  • Craftsmart Value in #3 – Pale Pink
  • Red Heart Super Saver in Blue
  • Red Heart Super Saver in White
  • Craftsmart Value in #9 – Purple
  • Red Heart Super Saver in Black

I let her choose a pattern she liked through Pinterest. She picked the neat ripple blanket pattern from Lucy at Attic 24. She instructed me the order for the ripples: pink, black, purple, white, blue and so on.

AudreeLeeBlog - Neat Ripple Crochet Blanket for Angelina 02

I quickly made the first 1/4 of the blanket and then somehow between many changes in my life, the initial attraction to the project was lost and the blanket sat in my W.I.P. (work in progress) basket, unfinished for quite some time. I started other projects and almost forget about this one. But Angelina never did, every time I would see her, she would ask about my progress and tell me how excited she was for me to be making her her very own blanket.  So every time, I would work on it a little bit, but then there was always some other projects that needed to be completed first.

AudreeLeeBlog - Neat Ripple Crochet Blanket for Angelina 03Finally, I decided enough was enough, the pattern for the neat ripple blanket is such a fun one to work with, it is beautiful and works itself so easily, I decided there was no more reason to wait so I gave myself a deadline: Angelina’s birthday and worked on it until it was completed in parallel with my other projects rather than in between them. Within a few weeks I had the rest of the blanket done. I added a white border to the edges making them all straight following this tutorial from Lucy.

AudreeLeeBlog - Neat Ripple Crochet Blanket for Angelina 04AudreeLeeBlog - Neat Ripple Crochet Blanket for Angelina 05

I ended up using just under one skein of each color. The finished size of this blanket is 48″ x 55″.

AudreeLeeBlog - Neat Ripple Crochet Blanket for Angelina 06

I have to say I absolutely love this blanket, the colors aren’t what I would choose for myself but I’m in love with the pattern and texture of it. I’m thinking of making myself a neat rippled blanket to snuggle under while watching TV or reading, something to go with the living room color palette. I’ll let you know if I ever get around to it.

AudreeLeeBlog - Neat Ripple Crochet Blanket for Angelina 07AudreeLeeBlog - Neat Ripple Crochet Blanket for Angelina 08

Am I the only one that gets bored of a project before it is completed even though I love the pattern? Have any of you made a neat rippled crochet blanket from this pattern?

4 thoughts on “Neat Ripple Crochet Blanket for Angelina

  1. Hi!! Love your version of this blanket!! I was just wondering if you could give me you pattern for the finishing edging in white?? I’m about to do one similar to this for my grand daughter. Thank You so much for sharing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

