Kent Street Bagel Cat Toy

A few weekends ago I decided to put down the Minion Blanket and take a few moments to make a quick project for the kitties before jumping back into the solid granny square madness (read more about the minion blanket progress here and here).

AudreeLeeBlog - Kent Street Bagel Cat Toy 01

I subscribe to the Lion Brand emails, every few days, they send me an email with new patterns, stories, etc. On that particular Saturday, the email contained patterns for pets, and I thought our cats would love the Kent Street Bagel Cat Toy.

AudreeLeeBlog - Kent Street Bagel Cat Toy 02

I grabbed some yarn from my stash (Loops and Thread – Impeccable in Aqua to be exact) and got to work. Within about an hour I had a completed bagel, stuffed with poly-fiber and cat nip.

AudreeLeeBlog - Kent Street Bagel Cat Toy 03AudreeLeeBlog - Kent Street Bagel Cat Toy 04

It was my first time stuffing a crochet item, so it was a let’s-try-and-see-how-it-turns-out type of project. If I had to do it again, I would either try to make my stitches tighter or would choose a smaller hook.  I would also add more cat nip, I had no idea of the proper amount to put so I only sprinkled a little, but the cats seem to think more would have been better (;

AudreeLeeBlog - Kent Street Bagel Cat Toy 05AudreeLeeBlog - Kent Street Bagel Cat Toy 06

Do you have any tips for stuffing crochet items neatly? Have you ever made a crochet pet toy?

Leave a Reply

