An Abstract Flower Painting

The other day, while Lee was at work, I went shopping with mom and we came across this canvas from Bouclair. I loved the almost abstract look of this flower and it just turned out to be the perfect colors for our bedroom (white, yellow, gray and black). With an 80$ price tag and a 24″ x 36″ size, it wasn’t exactly a small home decor decision and I wanted Lee’s opinion before I made the jump so I did the next best thing and snapped a picture of it. I figured Lee would be more inclined to like it if I didn’t have to drag her into a store halfway across town to see it. Here’s the picture I snapped in store to show her:

AudreeLeeBLog - An Abstract Flower Painting 01

To my surprise, when I showed Lee the picture later that evening, she immediately declared loving it and even better yet, declared that she could paint something similar for us if I preferred. Uh, yes please!

AudreeLeeBLog - An Abstract Flower Painting 02

We measured the area above our dresser to see what size of painting would work and came to the conclusion that 24″ x 36″ was actually a perfect size. Luckily for us, the next week Micheal’s had their amazing buy 3 for the price of 1 sale on canvases and we were able to snag some. That’s 66% off the original price which made our bedroom canvas only 13.60$. We grabbed 5 colors of acrylic paint (white, light antique white, daffodil yellow, bright yellow and black) from the dollar store at a cost of a dollar each making this entire project a whopping 18.60$ (compared to the 80$ version sold in stores!).

AudreeLeeBLog - An Abstract Flower Painting 03

With all the supplies on hand, Lee got to work and less than 15 minutes later, this masterpiece was created:

AudreeLeeBLog - An Abstract Flower Painting 04

She waited for the painting to dry and then added her signature (at my request) on the bottom right corner.

AudreeLeeBLog - An Abstract Flower Painting 05

I absolutely love her version (in fact I actually like it even more than the original). The paint drips/scribbles in the middle are my favorite part!

AudreeLeeBLog - An Abstract Flower Painting 06

Isn’t it amazing what my girl can do with a paintbrush, acrylic paints and a canvas in fifteen minutes? I wish I had her ability and talent for abstract paintings.

AudreeLeeBLog - An Abstract Flower Painting 07

I think it fills up the space above our dresser perfectly. It is such a unique piece and I love that it is one of the first things we see waking up every morning. It makes it even more special knowing that Lee’s the one who made it.

AudreeLeeBLog - An Abstract Flower Painting 08AudreeLeeBLog - An Abstract Flower Painting 09

Have you ever created some sort of art from inspiration found online or in stores? Would you ever consider doing so or do you find it easier to simply buy the piece you like?

2 thoughts on “An Abstract Flower Painting

Leave a Reply

